Discussion
Amulya Gopalakrishnan The Indian Express Group

Amulya Gopalakrishnan-

Discussion
Going Nowhere

Sunday 17 April '11

Among the people I hang out with, one of the last remaining heresies is to admit you don’t care that much for travel.
Dropping Names

Sunday 3 April '11

A last name is not just a label — it tethers you to your family and culture
Thirty Years Young

Sunday 20 March '11

There’s something about your thirties, when life seems to set and solidify.
Losing it at the Movies

Saturday 12 March '11

A quirky, passionate collection about the joys of film.
A Late Gamer

Sunday 6 March '11

Discovering the addictive joys of video games.
Excursions in Guyana

Saturday 26 February '11

Rahul Bhattacharya’s brilliant first novel journeys through the country’s cultural goulash, its patois and porknorking trips.
When We Talk About Love

Sunday 13 February '11

Valentine’s Day is also a big, buoyant celebration of things we ought to celebrate.
The Body Electric

Sunday 30 January '11

What’s the big deal about biometrics?
Love Signs, Anyone?

Sunday 19 December '10

What draws so many of us, despite our better judgment, to scan the daily horoscopes?
Thing Theory

Sunday 5 December '10

The intense joy of collecting something, anything.
Living in the land of leaks

Thursday 2 December '10

In a digital age, you can’t stop leaks. So start learning how to read them.
Animals are People Too

Sunday 21 November '10

In an either/or world, it’s hard being a whimsical vegetarian.
The Invisible Hand

Sunday 7 November '10

Why do we undervalue the worth of handiwork?
Remember the Time...

Sunday 24 October '10

Why the ’80s and ’90s seem like an antique land.
Missing the Joke

Saturday 16 October '10

If Howard Jacobson is the answer, what’s the question?
The Ghost in the Machine

Sunday 10 October '10

The enduring fun of robot movies.
Married Alive

Sunday 26 September '10

Why do we fetishise weddings the way we do?
One Bright Book of Life

Saturday 18 September '10

For all its Great American ambitions, Freedom is a riveting domestic drama at heart.
The unclassifiable

Wednesday 28 July '10

How a shadowy online ‘news organisation’ scooped the world...
Making money

Friday 16 July '10

The Indian rupee gets a unique identity, but will it make a real imprint?

IT ALL STARTS HERE

The Big Debate
Pratap Bhanu MehtaYou, the UPA, destroyed roads, airlines, power, education, industry, employment… you rocked the financial boat, you came for freedom, you legitimised being corrupt. But we did not speak out. Remember, we do have the vote. Pratap Bhanu Mehta While we were silent, July 11 Comments
The Big Debate
Pawan KheraReally, Mr Mehta? Much that I enjoy your sophomoric enthusiasm, your assertions are hurried and inaccurate. The UPA didn't aim to silence people. The UPA heard what the people spoke. Pawan Khera Imagining a silence, missing the point, July 19 Comments
The Big Debate
Shekhar GuptaNever in India's history has the economic discourse been so one-sided. Povertarianism, has become a part of our holy national consensus. Shekhar Gupta National Interest: The deformists, July 20 Comments
The Big Debate
Shashi TharoorI respect Pratap Bhanu Mehta and Shekhar Gupta, but find their diatribes sweepingly denunciatory. They have failed to notice today's India boasts a thriving, entrepreneurial and globalised economy. Shashi Tharoor Note to UPA-bashers, July 23 Comments
The Big Debate
Shashi TharoorPawan Khera and Shashi Tharoor's defence of the UPA, as rejoinders to articles by Pratap Bhanu Mehta and Shekhar Gupta, displays how political sycophancy can distort perception. They are written to ensure their status in the party. Madhu Trehan A people in despair, a government in wonderland Comments
The Big Debate