Ila Patnaik The Indian Express Group

Ila Patnaik-

Donít look, leap

Friday 25 May '12

Fuel price hike is the first of many big steps govt must take to rescue the economy
Rollback to forward

Tuesday 8 May '12

Slamming the brakes on budget proposals may stave off crisis, restore confidence
This isnít 1991

Monday 30 April '12

What the country should do to prevent a balance of payments crisis
Risky business

Wednesday 11 April '12

The governmentís proposal to borrow from foreigners could be dangerous if not properly handled
The Gold Tax

Tuesday 27 March '12

With increased import duties on gold, we return to pre-liberalisation thinking
How not to disinvest

Thursday 15 March '12

Donít repeat the ONGC mistake, instead steadily sell off PSU shares
Costly mistake

Monday 20 February '12

Growth slowdown is the price we pay for the wrong policies of pre-crisis years
The RBIís self-serving bid?

Tuesday 31 January '12

We need a single financial regulator, but itís not the RBIís job ó framing monetary policy and regulating financial institutions require different skills
UID as Userís ID

Friday 27 January '12

Use biometrics for anyone who wishes to connect to a govt subsidy scheme
Not just their roll call

Friday 20 January '12

The challenge, after you get children into schools, is to educate them
Reserve Bank, refocus

Wednesday 28 December '11

Its job should be to consistently deliver low and stable inflation
Stop controlling

Monday 19 December '11

It will not correct the macro-economic problems that have weakened the rupee
Zones of scepticism

Thursday 8 December '11

Why we need to distance Indian banks from the Indian state
Floating on the rupee

Wednesday 23 November '11

RBI has taken the correct course to not intervene to support the currency
Lessons from afar

Friday 18 November '11

Economic factors alone donít account for Italyís crisis. Itís governance too
Questions in reserve

Tuesday 8 November '11

Why the demand for dollar bonds wonít go down any time soon
Save the cash

Tuesday 25 October '11

Using forex reserves to buy raw material sources overseas is risky
Three balancing acts

Monday 17 October '11

Unlike 2010, global recovery will be difficult now, but achievable.
Better not step in

Monday 3 October '11

The RBI must not intervene in currency markets.
Watch like a hawk

Wednesday 21 September '11

Why RBI needs to convey a sustained commitment to fighting inflation?


The Big Debate
Pratap Bhanu MehtaYou, the UPA, destroyed roads, airlines, power, education, industry, employmentÖ you rocked the financial boat, you came for freedom, you legitimised being corrupt. But we did not speak out. Remember, we do have the vote. Pratap Bhanu Mehta While we were silent, July 11 Comments
The Big Debate
Pawan KheraReally, Mr Mehta? Much that I enjoy your sophomoric enthusiasm, your assertions are hurried and inaccurate. The UPA didn't aim to silence people. The UPA heard what the people spoke. Pawan Khera Imagining a silence, missing the point, July 19 Comments
The Big Debate
Shekhar GuptaNever in India's history has the economic discourse been so one-sided. Povertarianism, has become a part of our holy national consensus. Shekhar Gupta National Interest: The deformists, July 20 Comments
The Big Debate
Shashi TharoorI respect Pratap Bhanu Mehta and Shekhar Gupta, but find their diatribes sweepingly denunciatory. They have failed to notice today's India boasts a thriving, entrepreneurial and globalised economy. Shashi Tharoor Note to UPA-bashers, July 23 Comments
The Big Debate
Shashi TharoorPawan Khera and Shashi Tharoor's defence of the UPA, as rejoinders to articles by Pratap Bhanu Mehta and Shekhar Gupta, displays how political sycophancy can distort perception. They are written to ensure their status in the party. Madhu Trehan A people in despair, a government in wonderland Comments
The Big Debate