Discussion
Pratap Bhanu Mehta The Indian Express Group

Pratap Bhanu Mehta-

Discussion
Bharatiya Janata Parties

Tuesday 22 May '12

BJP is, for all practical purposes, a collection of six or seven state parties
Comic stripped

Wednesday 16 May '12

Parliament is now a body of fragile selves. They won’t draw a sword for liberty
Cross Country Rating

Saturday 28 April '12

An intelligent, sharply observed, often mordantly witty tour d’horzion of several emerging economies
Age of Sleaze

Wednesday 25 April '12

Corruption creates a social culture that assumes every dark corner is hiding secrets
Classroom struggle

Wednesday 18 April '12

Court settles the class issue, but the real challenges of RTE have to be met
Book clubbed

Thursday 12 April '12

Crossfire over Heehs’s work says much about our public culture of readership
Letter to Sonia

Wednesday 4 April '12

A medieval mindset infects your party and government
New and updated

Monday 26 March '12

How meanings change. Here’s the revised lexicon for our government and economy
Spinning moral compass

Friday 16 March '12

AIIMS suicide, Gurgaon rape: Justice is about how we treat each other
Mandate for a dream

Wednesday 7 March '12

Verdict in: voters choose empowerment over patronage
Do not disagree

Wednesday 29 February '12

Blaming NGOs reveals the diminishing space for dissent in our democracy
Between anti and pro

Friday 17 February '12

Delhi cannot afford to look at Iran, Israel and the US through the old prism
The court’s contradictions

Friday 10 February '12

The 2G orders are internally inconsistent, and downplay ministerial and cabinet responsibility
Governance after 2G

Thursday 9 February '12

Drawing the right institutional lessons from the Supreme Court’s judgments
None of the above

Thursday 2 February '12

This clamour for right to reject is a muddled response to electoral issues
Who’s afraid of Aadhar?

Wednesday 25 January '12

Is it the obdurate state striking back? Is it a turf war? It looks like both
Our Scissorland

Thursday 19 January '12

The instinct to censor only emboldens those who attack free speech
What Vivekananda valued

Monday 16 January '12

He was at the centre of the many intellectual currents that made modern India possible
Public reason, Indian style

Monday 2 January '12

What is the nature of our public opinion? Here are some randomly collected lessons
The C in Congress

Tuesday 27 December '11

What does it say about the party if it has to identify Sam Pitroda by caste?

IT ALL STARTS HERE

The Big Debate
Pratap Bhanu MehtaYou, the UPA, destroyed roads, airlines, power, education, industry, employment… you rocked the financial boat, you came for freedom, you legitimised being corrupt. But we did not speak out. Remember, we do have the vote. Pratap Bhanu Mehta While we were silent, July 11 Comments
The Big Debate
Pawan KheraReally, Mr Mehta? Much that I enjoy your sophomoric enthusiasm, your assertions are hurried and inaccurate. The UPA didn't aim to silence people. The UPA heard what the people spoke. Pawan Khera Imagining a silence, missing the point, July 19 Comments
The Big Debate
Shekhar GuptaNever in India's history has the economic discourse been so one-sided. Povertarianism, has become a part of our holy national consensus. Shekhar Gupta National Interest: The deformists, July 20 Comments
The Big Debate
Shashi TharoorI respect Pratap Bhanu Mehta and Shekhar Gupta, but find their diatribes sweepingly denunciatory. They have failed to notice today's India boasts a thriving, entrepreneurial and globalised economy. Shashi Tharoor Note to UPA-bashers, July 23 Comments
The Big Debate
Shashi TharoorPawan Khera and Shashi Tharoor's defence of the UPA, as rejoinders to articles by Pratap Bhanu Mehta and Shekhar Gupta, displays how political sycophancy can distort perception. They are written to ensure their status in the party. Madhu Trehan A people in despair, a government in wonderland Comments
The Big Debate