Shailaja Bajpai The Indian Express Group

Shailaja Bajpai-

Plots and gameplans

Thursday 9 January '14

Elections are here and so are the conspiracy theories.
The rainbow election

Thursday 12 December '13

As the results came in, TV news lost the big picture with all the colour-coding.
The screeching heights

Thursday 5 December '13

Meanwhile, DD National exhumes an old show for prime time.
Lies and tapes

Thursday 28 November '13

And closure, of a sort, in a high-profile case.
We’ll always have Sachin

Thursday 21 November '13

He’ll be out there on the cricket field, at least on television replays.
Mission Tendulkar, Mission Mars

Thursday 7 November '13

TV generated enough hot air around Tendulkar’s 199th Test to propel him beyond the stratosphere.
The chosen one

Thursday 31 October '13

If elections were decided by TV, Modi would have won by a landslide already.
A touch of Americana

Thursday 24 October '13

Current seasons of US TV shows offer vivid images of modern America.
Storm tossed

Thursday 17 October '13

Mercifully, Phailin was not as bad as the coverage on news TV had led us to believe
Small screen, big thriller

Thursday 10 October '13

‘24’ poses a new question to a jaded TV audience.
Mind your media manners

Thursday 3 October '13

From Rahul Gandhi’s outburst to Narendra Modi’s village moment, our three leading politicians could do better with the press.
Seizing the story

Thursday 26 September '13

TV news could treat America’s ‘60 Minutes’ as its lodestar.
Reely large

Thursday 19 September '13

From Narendra Modi’s elevation to the return of ‘Mahabharat’, it was a maha big week on TV.
Desperately pursuing Baba

Thursday 5 September '13

It was Asaram all the way. Parliament debate on the food security bill hardly got a look-in.
Following the bill

Thursday 29 August '13

The House functioned. And then Sonia Gandhi’s health sent channels into a tizzy.
Now showing the rupee

Thursday 22 August '13

Grim news and dire predictions in a week dominated by economic gloom.
The war on TV

Thursday 8 August '13

Moments of sanity are few when jingoism replaces journalism
These crystal balls

Thursday 1 August '13

Opinion polls are in season. Scepticism is in order
Two Khans and a royal baby

Thursday 25 July '13

What’s common between the Salman-Shah Rukh hug and the arrival of the new British prince?
Get past the gladiators

Thursday 18 July '13

There’s life on TV, away from politics


The Big Debate
Pratap Bhanu MehtaYou, the UPA, destroyed roads, airlines, power, education, industry, employment… you rocked the financial boat, you came for freedom, you legitimised being corrupt. But we did not speak out. Remember, we do have the vote. Pratap Bhanu Mehta While we were silent, July 11 Comments
The Big Debate
Pawan KheraReally, Mr Mehta? Much that I enjoy your sophomoric enthusiasm, your assertions are hurried and inaccurate. The UPA didn't aim to silence people. The UPA heard what the people spoke. Pawan Khera Imagining a silence, missing the point, July 19 Comments
The Big Debate
Shekhar GuptaNever in India's history has the economic discourse been so one-sided. Povertarianism, has become a part of our holy national consensus. Shekhar Gupta National Interest: The deformists, July 20 Comments
The Big Debate
Shashi TharoorI respect Pratap Bhanu Mehta and Shekhar Gupta, but find their diatribes sweepingly denunciatory. They have failed to notice today's India boasts a thriving, entrepreneurial and globalised economy. Shashi Tharoor Note to UPA-bashers, July 23 Comments
The Big Debate
Shashi TharoorPawan Khera and Shashi Tharoor's defence of the UPA, as rejoinders to articles by Pratap Bhanu Mehta and Shekhar Gupta, displays how political sycophancy can distort perception. They are written to ensure their status in the party. Madhu Trehan A people in despair, a government in wonderland Comments
The Big Debate