‘Killer’ of VIP astrologer shot in encounter

Jaunpur police on Sunday morning gunned down Satyam Singh alias Sheru, who allegedly shot dead VIP astrologer Ramesh Tiwari at his residence in Oonchgaon village on November 15 last year. Sheru carried a reward of Rs 50,000 on his head.

During the exchange of fire, two police constables, identified as Narendra Singh and Ram Babu, suffered gunshot injuries. They were rushed to hospital where doctors stated their condition stable. Narendra was injured in the right leg, while Ram Babu was hit in the right hand.

Acting on a tip-off, the police laid a trap near Sakhoi village under Zafarabad police circle. Around 6 am, police spotted four persons on two motorcycles. When the cops asked them to stop, the motorcyclists opened fire and tried to escape. The police returned the fire, in which one person was killed and the others fled.

The deceased was identified as Satyam Singh alias Sheru, a resident of Ambedkar Nagar. The police found a pistol and cartridges on him. A motorcycle was also found.

Jaunpur SP Manzil Saini said Sheru had 16 criminal cases against him. The reward on his head was increased from Rs 10,000 to Rs 50,000 in December last year, she added. The cases against Sheru are lodged in various districts, including Azamgarh, Sultanpur, Ambedkar Nagar and Jaunpur. Most of the cases are of heinous nature, including murder and attempt to murder.

The police have arrested 10 persons in connection with the murder of astrologer Ramesh Tiwari. The alleged key conspirator Dhirendra Singh, who planned the murder and hired the shooters, surrendered in court in of November.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus