‘Smart’ licences: First phase in Jan, to cover 10 districts

The state's transport department will begin the process of issuing Smart Card Driving Licences (SCDLs) in 10 districts in the first fortnight of January 2013. The process of issuing SCDLs will be extended to the whole state by April.

"The SCDL was a much awaited service and now we are ready to introduce it in the state. A user-friendly process for issuance of driving licences which is free of intermediaries has been designed," Raja Mahendra Aridaman Singh, Transport Minister stated on Saturday.

As per the application process of SCDL, the forms are available on the website - www.uptransport.org - along with instructions. After downloading the forms, the applicant has the option to book a time slot as per his convenience 15 days in advance. The applicant then has to visit the designated RTO at the appointed date and time for submitting his application form and other documents. "The applicant's biometrics including finger prints and photo will be recorded and the requisite fee will be deposited," Singh said. The SCDL will be sent to the applicant's address by speed post within 7-10 days. The minister also apprised that applicants holding driving certificate issued by a driver's training school authorised by the transport department will be exempted from the driving test. The fee for a permanent driving licence on smart card is Rs 200.

To be covered in first phase:

Lucknow, Kanpur, Ghaziabad, Agra, Jhansi, Allahabad, Barabanki, Varanasi, Aligarh and Meerut

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.