11 people honoured at Forbes India Philanthropy Awards

NandanEleven people were honoured for their outstanding contribution towards the good of the society at Forbes India Philanthropy Awards.

As many as 11 people, including members from the influential Nilekani, Bajaj and Godrej families, were honoured for their outstanding contribution towards the good of the society at Forbes India Philanthropy Awards.

Rohini Nilekani, founder of Arghyam, and Nandan Nilekani, Infosys co-founder who presently heads the Unique Identification Authority of India, won the second Forbes India Philanthropy Award in Outstanding Philanthropist category for the year 2013.

As many as 11 winners received their awards in Bangalore on November 29.

The Godrej and the Bajaj families won the awards in the Outstanding Corporate Foundation and the Distinguished Family categories, Forbes India said in a statement.

The philanthropy awards were instituted by Forbes India to recognise the efforts of individuals who have given time, money, skill and expertise to solve some of the most pressing societal issues, to create model institutions and inspire others.

Nandan Nilekani said: "Philanthropy should go where markets don¿t and governments cant."

On the government's mandate of spending 2 per cent of profits on corporate social responsibility initiatives, Biocon CMD Kiran Mazumdar Shaw said it should be looked at by companies as an opportunity to make social impact.

Among other winners, Ramesh and Swati Ramanathan, founders, Janaagraha, won the Crossover Leader award that recognises a professional who has successfully made the transition from a thriving career in the corporate world to work for the social or not-for-profit sector.

Romesh Wadhwani, founder, chairman and CEO of Symphony Technology Group won the 'Distinguished Non-Resident philanthropist' award and Archana Raghuram, Director-Outreach at Cognizant Technology Solutions was given the 'Good Samaritan Award'.

Narayana Health won 'the Good Company' award; Anu Aga, Former chairperson, Thermax and Chairperson, Teach For India, won the Corporate Catalyst award and Amit Chandra, MD, Bain Capital, won the NextGen leader in Philanthropy award.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.