15 candidates file nominations for Handia by-election

A total of 15 candidates have filed nomination papers for the Assembly by-election, in Handia constituency of Allahabad district, to be held on June 2.

Seven candidates, including six independents and one of Apna Dal, filed nomination papers on Wednesday, which was the last date for filing papers. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has given ticket to Pankaj Tripathi, nephew of Rakesh Dhar Tripathi, who was minister in the previous Mayawati government.

The Samajwadi Party has fielded former MLA Mahesh Narain Singh's son Prashant Kumar Singh. The BJP has repeated Vidyakant Tiwari alias Sanwre who had contested in 2012 Assembly elections and lost his security deposit.

The Congress has give the ticket to Amrit Lal Bind. In the 2012 elections, Congress had given ticket to Rajendra Tripathi, who too had lost his security deposit. Apna Dal has fielded Lal Chandra.

The scrutiny of nominations will be held on May 16 and withdrawals will be allowed till May 18. Polling will be on June 2 and counting of votes will be held on June 5.

SP declares candidates for 2 U'khand LS seats

The Samajwadi Party (SP) has declared two candidates for Lok Sabha elections from Uttarakhand. The candidates are Neeraj Singh Chauhan from Tehri and Ajmal Nawaz Khan, who is the son of General Shahnawaz Khan, from Haridwar. SP had already declared 71 candidates for Uttar Pradesh.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.