16 countries to take part in World Cup Kabaddi

Sixteen countries will be taking part in the 3rd edition of World Cup Kabaddi, scheduled to be held in Punjab from December 1 to 15.

Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal, while reviewing preparations for the tournament, announced doubling of prize money for women's teams from Rs 25 lakh to 51 lakh for the winner, Rs 15 lakh to 31 lakh for the runners-up and Rs 10 to 21 lakh for the third position.

In the men's category, the prize money has already been doubled to Rs 2 crore for winner, Rs 1 crore for runners-up and Rs 51 lakh for the third placed team.

He said that countries including England, Afghanistan, Denmark, Canada, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Norway, Pakistan, Sierra Leone, Scotland, Argentina, Italy, Iran, Kenya and USA will participate in the meet.

The opening ceremony would be held at Bhatinda on December 1 and the cup would be played at 13 venues.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus