188 candidates in fray in Nagaland

Altogether 188 candidates were left in the fray for the upcoming Nagaland Assembly elections after the time for withdrawal of names ended today.

The state's Chief Electoral Officer J Alam said out of the 189 nomination papers found valid after scrutiny, one Independent candidate withdrew from contest and the final list of candidates stood at 188 for the 60-member Assembly.

There are only two women candidates in the fray and the total number of voters is 11,93,438, the CEO said.

Prominent candidates included Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio (Northern Angami), Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie (Western Angami), Opposition Leader Tokheho Yepthomi (Dimapur III), Congress president SI Jamir (Dimapur II) and Home Minister Imkong L Imchen (Koridang).

Out of the 2,023 polling stations in the state, 821 have been identified as sensitive and 662 as hyper-sensitive, Alam said.

Twenty constituencies would be witnessing straight fight while 18 would have triangular contest. Eighteen others have four candidates while two constituencies have five and six candidates in the fray.

The CEO said the number of additional forces (Central Armed Police Force) to be deployed for peaceful conduct of the polls has gone up to 230 from 180.

Out of the 230 additional companies, 39 have already been deployed while the remaining 191 would be arriving only after the February 14 Tripura elections.

Besides, the state would also deploy about 13,000 security force, which include State Police, Village Guards and Home Guards personnel.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.