1987 bank robbery: 10-year jail for 12

Tweleve accused in the 1987 robbery of Rs 5.70 crore at PNB Dholewal Chowk branch were on Tuesday sentenced to 10-year jail each.

The accused included Daljit Singh Bittu, Gursharan Singh Gama, the pro-Khalistan militants, Harjinder Singh, Mann Singh, Gurjant Singh, Balwinder Singh, Mohan Singh, Sewa Singh, Asha Singh and Avtar Singh. It was one of the biggest bank robbery at that time.

The CBI was probing the case which was referred to it after three days of the incident. It was only in 1996 that main accused Bittu and Gama were arrested, who were released on bail in 2008. Later, they were arrested in some other case. The decision was given in the special TADA court of Sunil Kumar Arora. The accused have also been fined Rs 5,000 each. While Bittu and Gama were in jail already in some other case, the others were out on bail. They were all produced in the court on Tuesday and later sent to jail under heavy police cover.

Supporters of the accused were seen outside the court in large numbers.

So far, six judges has heard the case.

The incident had happened on February 12, 1987, when the accused came dressed in police uniform at that time. They had brought along a truck and had filled the cash in pillow covers, quilt covers and sacks. It took them three hours to empty cash from the bank's strong room.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.