20 seats to witness straight contest in Nagaland polls

One third of the Assembly constituencies in Nagaland, which is going to the polls on February 23, will witness a straight contest.

Nagaland has 60 Assembly constituencies and in 20 constituencies there will be a straight contest between only two candidates.

Even for the rest 40 seats there are 148 candidates as there are a total of 188 candidates in the electoral fray for the 60 member Nagaland Assembly.

The maximum number of candidates contesting from a constituency are six. Both Sanis and Bhandari Assembly constituencies under Wokha district have six candidates each.

While in other constituencies there are less then six candidates in the electoral fray.

The Assembly constituency which has the largest number of electorate is Ghanpani-I which has 58,269 voters, while the constituency with the minimum number of voters is Mokokchung town with 5,788 people in the electoral rolls.

The Assembly constituency which has the largest area is Tenning under Peren district.

A total of around 2,600 Electronic voting machines EVMs will be used in the February 23 state Assembly polls and the state has 11,93,438 electorate out of which male accounts for 6,03,933 while the rest 5,89,505 are female.

Nagaland will go to poll on February 23 while campaigning in all forms will come to an end this evening.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus