2014 LS polls: SP 2nd list out, 3 sitting MPs denied ticket

Three sitting MPs have not found their place in the second list of eight candidates for the Lok Sabha elections which was announced by the Samajwadi Party on Monday. Three ministers in the state government also figure in the list.

With this, the SP has announced candidates for 63 of the 80 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh.

The MPs who have been excluded are Kamlesh Balmiki from Bulandshahr, Radhey Mohan Singh from Ghazipur and R K Singh Patel from Banda.

Minister of State for Labour and Employment Shahid Manzoor has been named from Meerut, Panchayti Raj Minister Balram Yadav from Azamgarh and Minister of Water Resources Om Prakash Singh from Ghazipur, replacing Radhey Mohan Singh.

For Bulandshahr, Ravi Gautam, a former MLC from BSP, has been named in place of Kamlesh Balmiki. Party sources said Balmiki was given the party ticket in 2009 on the recommendation of BJP leader Kalyan Singh, who had then joined hands with the SP.

In Banda, Shyama Charan Gupta has been named in place of R K Singh Patel. Gupta had lost the 2012 Assembly election from Manikpur. Incidentally, Patel was named in the first list which was released last Friday.

Mahendra Verma, brother of the Minister of State for Social Welfare, has been named from Sitapur. MLA Bhagwan Sharma alias Guddu Pandit's wife Kajal Sharma has been named candidate from Aligarh; former MP Dhram Raj Patel, who joined the party three days ago, has been named from Phoolpur and Kunwar Akhilesh Singh from Maharajganj.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus