21 candidates file nominations in Tripura

A total 21 candidates, including three ministers of the ruling Left Front, on Tuesday filed their nominations for the February 14 Assembly polls in Tripura.

No candidate had filed his papers on the first day of nominations yesterday.

According to official sources, 18 candidates from CPI(M), one each from CPI and RSP and one independent candidate filed their nominations during the day.

Prominent among them were Information and Culture minister Anil Sarkar, Forest and Industries minister Jiten Chowdury, Tribal Welfare Minister Aghore Debbarma and Minister for Jail Manindra Reang, sources said.

Sarkar, who has been a member of the Assembly since 1972 was the senior-most among the contestants.

CPI-M sources said many more of its candidates will file nominations tomorrow.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus