3 Express staffers bag Press Council awards

The Press Council of India announced the National Awards for Excellence in Journalism on Friday with three Indian Express staffers bagging awards in key


The awards, which were adjudicated by a 10-member jury, will be handed out on November 16.

Santosh Singh, the Patna correspondent of The Indian Express, has bagged the prestigious Developmental Reporting Award with a cash prize of Rs 50,000 while Manu Pubby of the organisation has been given the Certificate of Creative Excellence in the category of Raja Ram Mohan Roy award for investigative journalism with a cash prize of Rs 25,000. Prem Nath Pandey of The Indian Express has won a joint award with Sudipto Das of The Times of India in the category of Photo Journalism (single news picture) with a cash prize of Rs 25,000 each.

The key Raja Ram Mohan Roy award for journalism has been bagged jointly by Santosh Kumar of India Today and C K Sivanandan of the Malayala Manorama for their investigative journalism and they would receive Rs 50,000 each.

Recipients of other awards include Brajesh Kumar (Governance Now), Mohammad Waqas, Dilip Mandal (India Today), Shirish Khare (Tehelka), Raji Joseph (Rashtra Deepika), Upmita Vajpai (Dainik Bhaskar), Sebin S Kottaram (Malayala Manorama), J Suresh (Malayala Manorama), Subhash Paul (Rashtriya Sahara), Arif Aziz (Nadim, Bhopal) and Ahmed Ibrahim Alvi (Urdu daily Aag).

The awards, given to print journalists for a range of categories, were instituted in 2012.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus