357 candidates file papers on last day of nomination

As many as 357 candidates from the 60 constituencies in the state filed their papers till the last-day for filing of nominations for the February 23 state Assembly elections.

The scrutiny which has been fixed for tomorrow, February 7.

Today, a total of 57 candidates from across the 11 districts and four sub divisions filed their nomination papers, EC office sources said.

In Shillong, four candidates including Khun Hynniewtrep Awakening Movement (KHNAM) President Pyndapborthiaw Saibon filed his nomination papers from Mawlai constituency on the last day.

He is going to contest a tough fight against Congress sitting legislator, Founder Strong Cajee and UDP candidate, Embhah Syiemlieh.

Others who have filed their nomination included Mawsynram HSPDP candidate and former journalist, Starfing

Pdahsiej, South Shillong SP candidate, Vinod Kumar Joshi and Nongkrem independent candidate, Elston Roy Kharkongor.

A total of 7 candidates filed their nomination papers from different constituencies under West Khasi hills district which included MDP candidate Bokstar Nongrang and HSPDP candidate, Nit Shabong from Mairang, NPP candidate, Set Singh Dkhar and Congress substitute candidate, Nestingdhar Nongdhar from Nongstoin, independent candidate, Andrew Charles Gare and LJP candidate, Bonifirst Nongrem from Rambrai Jyrngam and independent candidate, Livingstone R Marak from Mawshynrut constituency.

In South West Khasi Hills NCP candidate, Desmond Wanshong (NCP) filed his nomination from Ranikor constituency.

While in West Garo hills district, Rophul Marak is the last candidate to file nomination from Rongara Siju constituency.

The 24 constituencies from the five districts of Garo hills has witnessed the highest number of candidates who have filed their nomination for the upcoming polls in the state.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.