5 tech varsities follow GTU model

Five other state technical universities are all set to adopt the industry-academia linkage system currently followed by the Gujarat Technological University (GTU).

These universities include the Punjab Technical University (PTU), the Chhattisgarh Swami Vivekanand Technical University (CSVTU), Rajasthan Technical University (RTU), the Jawaharlal Nehru Technical University (JNTU) in Andhra Pradesh and the Visvesvaraya Technological University in Karnataka.

The Punjab university has already started providing Rs 25,000 as incentive to students for every Industry Defined Problem (IDP).

Managing director of Techpedia Hiranmay Mahanta said it would take about six months to set up the similar systems in these universities.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.