7 lakh Muslims have signed up for revoking Art 370: RSS outfit

Muslim Rashtriya Manch, an organisation floated by the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, on Friday said more than seven lakh Muslims have become signatories to a campaign to revoke Article 370 and to scrap the report of Centre's interlocutors on Jammu and Kashmir.

Madhya Pradesh, which is ruled by the Bhartiya Janata Party government of Shivraj Singh Chauhan, has accounted for 1.5 lakh of those signatures followed by Rajasthan with 70,000 in the second place, claimed RSS functionary Indresh Kumar, the force behind MRM, while addressing a state-level convention in Bhopal.

Floated a decade ago, Muslim Rashtriya Manch's first signature campaign was against cow slaughter. The organisation reportedly has presence in more than 300 districts of 20 states.

Kumar, who was accused of involvement in right-wing Hindu terror cases, made light of the accusations saying he enjoyed his stay in the custody of the National Investigation Agency after being branded a terrorist.

"Even Chandra Shekhar Azad was called a traitor by British officials but whose photograph do we hang on walls today,'' he asked drawing a parallel, and claimed that both Hindus and Muslims prayed in his support.

"For decades you were warned to keep off the RSS but the Sachar Committee report brought out your plight,'' Kumar said.

"Besides religious and elementary education, the community should also be trained to love the motherland. A true Muslim will go to Haj but will sacrifice his life for India not any other country.''

The RSS leader told the community to "discuss Kashmir, Ayodhya and Gujarat by all means.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.