8 new faces in PMC’s standing committee

Eight news faces were inducted in the standing committee of the Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC), Thursday. Parties chose to nominate senior corporators for the vacant posts, while BJP nominated two first-time corporators.

Monica Mohol, Yogesh Mullick and Hemant Rasane were nominated by the BJP as their representatives in the standing committee, while Shiv Sena chose to nominate Prithviraj Sutar. MNS-nominated Ravindra Dhangekar, while chairman of the city improvement committee (CIC) Chetan Tupe was the nominee from the NCP. Congress city president Abhay Chhajed and Kamla Vyavhare were the nominees from Congress for the standing committee.

The need for new nominations arose when 8 members exited the PMC committee last month. The names of the members were chosen by lottery and it was done in accordance with the provisions of the Bombay Provincial Municipal Corporation Act, (BPMC), 1949.

Friction in Cong camp

There were reports of friction in the Congress camp over the exclusion of Lata Rajguru from the standing committee nominations. Rajguru, a three-time corporator, was disturbed at her name being dropped and had reportedly threatened to resign from her corporatorship.

"I have always won with comfortable margins and the last moment exclusion really hurt me," she said. Rajguru stated that senior party leaders later promised her that she would be nominated to another committee. City president Abhay Chhajed played down the incident.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus