83.27 per cent votes cast in Nagaland


Nagaland witnessed a high 83.29 per cent turnout of voters to elect 59 members of the 60-member Assembly today with the polling by and large peaceful.

Nagaland had recorded 86.19 per cent voting in the last Assembly polls.

Election to the Tuensang sadar seat was countermanded following the death yesterday of Congress candidate P Chuba Chang.

Prominent candidates whose fates were sealed in EVMs were Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie, Opposition Leader Tokheho Yepthomi, Congress president SI Jamir and former Home Minister Imkong L Imchen from Koridang.

Till 4 pm, the official time for end of polling, 83.29 per cent of the electorate exercised their franchise, Chief Electoral Officer J Alam said.

The voting percentage could rise as there were still people in queue, particularly in Mokokchung and Wokha districts, he said.

He said repoll would be held in three polling stations -- Hoshepu in Zunheboto district, polling station number 17 in Chizami Zavame village in Phek district and Ghaspani-II in Dimapur district.

At Hoshepu armed miscreants prevented polling from being held, at Zavame EVMs and the electoral roll were damaged and at Ghaspani-II voting could not be held because of a clash between supporters of two candidates, he said.

The date of repolling would be announced by tomorrow, he said.

The election to the Tuensang seat will be held on March 23 and counting on for it on March 26, Alam said.

Asked about Assam police allegedly preventing polling at Ladigarh in Tamlu constituency in Longleng district, Alam said he accepted that there were problems, but the final report from the district administration and returning officer were awaited.

Only after receiving the final report would further action be taken, he added.

Deputy CEC, Sudhir Tripathi, lauded the efforts of the Church bodies and other civil societies in maintaining a clean election process.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.