Aditi, Monique shine; Aryan fastest

Collegian Aditi Dhumatkar gave a standout performance while winning the women's 5000 metres event, clocking 1:01:21.00 to better her own 2009 record of 1:02:41.28 on the final in the Khar Gymkhana Open Swimming Gala, hosted by Khar Gymkhana here on Sunday However, Aryan Makhija, also from Khar Gymkhana, became the fastest swimmer of the meet when he won the boys under-14 5000m swim with a timing of 1:00:41.69 secs. Monique Gandhi, another product of Khar Gymkhana,too, shared the limelight with Aditi and Aryan. Going for 5000m event in the girls under-16 category, Monique clocked 1:00:58.28 secs to better her clubmate Rujuta Bhatt's last year's timing of 1:05:02.50 secs. In the process, she outdid even the boys under-16 winner Vedant Rao (Otters), who timed 1:01:20.62 secs. Even the second-placed Aakanksha Vora, of Otter, also broke Rujuta's record. Apart from Rs 5000 to each of the winners in all the categories, all the record-breakers were richer by another Rs 2000 for their exceptional feats.

Results: WOMEN: 5000m: 1. Aditi Dhumatkar (Khar Gym) 1:01:21.00 secs NMR; 2. Rujuta Bhatt (Khar Gym) 1:06:28.46; 3. Veeral Mehta (YMCA) 1:19.45.13. MEN: 5000m : 1. Keshin Bhargava (PSP) 1:11:02.24 secs; 2. Sshrikant Palande (PSP) 1:`3:23.68; 3. Hardik Hunekar (MSP) 1:13:54.35. GIRLS: U-16: 5000m: 1. Monique Gandhi (Khar Gym)- 1:00:58.28 secs- NMR; 2. Aakanksha Vora (Otters) 1:01:35.19;- BMR; 3. Trisha Bhyimani (Khar Gym). 1:08:01.81 secs. BOYS:U-16: 5000m: 1. Vedant Rao (Otters) 1:01:20.62; 2. Jason Smith (Khar Gym) 1:02:30.00; 3; Amitesh Radghav (Khar Gym) 1:03:19.99 secs. GIRLS U-14: 5000m: 1. Neha Prasad (Khar Gym) 1:06:41.00 secs; Proteeti Sinha (Khar Gym) 1:09.43.28; 3. Ananya Kochhar (Otters) 1:12:19.65. BOYS U-14: 5000m: 1. Aryan Makhija (Khar Gym) -1:00:41.69 NMR.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus