Amateurs to fight for the final spot in Kapil Devís Team

More than 150 golfers will vie for a final spot in the Kapil Dev Ellora Chandigarh Amatuer team in the second Chandigarh qualifier, which gets underway at the greens of Panchkula Golf Club today.

The Panchkula Golf Club qualifier will be one of the 18 amateur qualifying rounds to be held in nine participating cities across India - Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Chennai, Kolkata, Delhi, Noida, Gurgaon, Chandigarh and Greater Noida.

Over 150 golfers will be competing for the final third spot on the Dev Ellora Chandigarh amateur golf team to participate in the Louis Philippe Cup.

The winner at the Panchkula Golf Club in the handicap category of 0-15 will get a chance to represent the Dev Ellora Chandigarh team alongside top golfers like Sujjan Singh, Harendra Gupta, Ajeetesh Sandhu and other top professional golfers in the Louis Phillipe Cup to be held from February 13 at Gurgaon.

With a prize purse of Rs. 1.24 crore, this unique golf event, now in its second edition, will be a great opportunity for the enthusiastic golfers of India.

The combined 36 hole scores of the 3-member pro and 3-member amateur teams will determine the winners of the Pro-am title.

The scores of the 3-member pro team alone will determine which four top pro city teams progress to the semi-finals and then eventually to the finals of the Louis Philippe Cup.

India's top stars like former Asian Tour Player of the Year, Jeev Milkha Singh, Jyoti Randhawa, two time Asian Tour winner Gaganjeet Bhullar, 2011 Asian Tour winner Anirban Lahiri and 2011 Singapore Classic winner Himmat Rai have confirmed participation in the golfing event.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.