Andrea Petkovic in semis

Andrea Petkovic, the former world number nine dumped top seed and world number 85, Nina Bratchikova, 6-2, 6-0 to progress to the semifinals of the Royal Indian Open at the Balewadi sports complex in Pune. Petkovic brushed aside Bratchikova with her powerful forehands and accurate serve and will face Ukranian Elina Svitolina in the semis. Svitolina advanced to the semifinals after her opponent, giant-killer, Luksika Kumkhum of Thailand forfeited the match. Kumkhum who took the first set 7-6(3), 1-4 retired from the match due to a side-strain. Kumkhum's compatriot and tour veteran Tamarine Tanasugarn downed Croatian Donna Vekic 6-2, 6-4 to set up a semifinal clash with Kimiko Date-Krumm. The Japanese, Date-Krumm, made short work of Misaki Doi, another Japanese 6-1, 6-4.

In the women's doubles semifinals, Nina Bratchikova and Oksana Kalashnikova beat Y Xu and Y Zhou 6-3, 7-5 and will face Julia Glushko and N Lertcheewakarn. Glushko and Lertcheewakarn beat Eva Birnerova and Andreja Klepac 6-3, 6-4.

Bookings open for Pune-Delhi one-way spl

The Railway administration has decided to run a one-way Pune-Nizamuddin special train on November 13 to clear the extra rush of passengers.The train will depart from Pune Station at 10.30 pm on Tuesday and will reach Delhi Thursday at 3.30 am. Bookings will open on Saturday. "Pune division will implement an engineering block between Pune Station and Hadapsar on Tuesday. This will result in change in timings of a couple of trains," said Y K Singh, PRO. Baramati-Pune passenger will leave Hadapsar station at 2.15 pm instead of 1.37 pm and Pune-Nizamabad passenger train will leave Pune station at 2.50 pm instead of 2.25 pm.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.