'Anna University not affiliated to M K Alagiri educational trust'

Anna University today told the Madras, High Court that Daya College of Engeering, run by Union Minister M K Alagiri's Educational Trust, could not claim affiliation.

Seeking to stay a single Judge's order directing the University to provide temporary affiliation, the University Registrar S Shanmugavel told the Madras High Court that the college had changed the faculties by inducting new director and Principal and the status of other faculties and non-teaching staff, academic fitness and working condition of the laboratores were not known.

The College had not produced the structural stability certificate from the PWD and failed to ensure safety and security to the life of the students, staff and management.

Besides the University got to know about the letter written by the Commissioner of Town and Country planning, in which it had been said that there were violations in the construction of the buildings,only at a later stage.

The nature of violations and their impact on the academic well being of the campus had tobe analysed. The defects should be rectified, mandatorily before affiliation was granted, he said. The single judge, who allowed the petition of the college seeking temporary affiliation did not take into consideration the contentions of the University, he said.

The college counsel Wilson said the All India council for technical education had permitted to admit 300 students to the college. He denied that the building structure certification had not been given.

Justice K N Basha and P Devadoss posted the case for hearing to December 12.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.