7 women among 8 UP doctors sent to jail in NRHM scam case

Eight government doctors, seven of them women, facing charges in the NRHM scam were sent to jail on Friday after they appeared before the special CBI court in Ghaziabad and their bail applications were rejected.

Vinod Shahi, counsel for the accused, said the doctors were issued summons by the court after the CBI filed chargesheet against them in September last.

The CBI had registered two cases following directives of the Lucknow Bench of Allahabad High Court in August 2011 and filed four chargesheets against 52 persons, including 28 government doctors, on September 7. The state government had given prosecution sanction against these doctors.

Two chargesheets were filed in one case against 33 accused. It was alleged that bogus transport bills for use of ambulance and supply of manpower were passed by 29 government officials of different Bal Mahila Chikitsalaya and Community Health Centres in Lucknow during 2009-10.

The payments were made for wrongful gain to two Lucknow-based private companies, named Omega Security Services and Omraj Enterprises. The total amount involved was about Rs 60 lakh. Two more chargesheets were filed in another case against 19 accused on similar charges against 17 officials, causing a loss of about Rs 20 lakh.

The doctors facing the chargesheets and sent in judicial custody on Friday are identified as the then district TB officer Dr K K Saxena, district programme manager Dr Chitra Singh and superintendents of Bal Mahila Chikitsalayas Dr Sumedha Yadav, Dr Indu Bala, Dr Rekha Chaudhary, Dr Anjali Pant, Dr Chitra Saxena and Dr Deepa Bharti.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on indianexpress.com are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, indianexpress.com reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.