Anuj sees off Amanís challenge in first round

In one of the most thrilling matches in the boy's Under-16 category, Anuj Malik saw off brave challenge from Aman Pandoh but beat him, 9-8(4), in the tie-breaker to enter the next round in the CLTA-AITA Championship Series being held at the CLTA Stadium in Sector 10 on Monday.

In all the 16 matches played in the U-16 category, there were few close encounters but the one between Anuj and Aman beat all. Going neck to neck till the 16th game, it could have been anybody's game but Anuj held his nerves and won crucial points in the tie-breaker to emerge triumphant.

Meanwhile, Sahishnu Sharma came back strongly after losing the first set and won 4-0 in the second set to take the match into the tie-breaker. He claimed the third set 7-0 in boy's U-12 category. In another match, Himanshu Mor deafeted Ishaan Anirudh 4-1, 1-4 (7-5) while MS Karthik managed to prevail over Jagtar Arora, 5-4, 1-4, 7-4, in the tie breaker.

Also, in the new tournament structure of AITA, a best of 12 points tie-breaker (reaching 7 points with a difference of 2) is played in lieu of the final set. In the girl's U-12 category, Simran Pritam defeated Ashpreet Kaur Bajwa 1-4, 4-1, 7-2 and Mangat Rahat beat Amreen Sidhu 4-1, 2-4, 7-2.


Boys: U-16: First Round: Paramveer Bajwa bt. Anmol Sandhu 9-2, Harjasleen Singh bt. Rohit Dhiman 9-4, Sagar Bains bt. Amit Beniwal 9-3, Nihit Rawal bt. Gurjot Singh 9-4, Vikrant Dahiya bt. Kabir Manrai 9-6, Vikas Berwal bt. Aman Kedia 9-1, Vikas Singh bt. Rohit Kumar 9-2, Eklavya Singh bt. Karandeep Singh 9-6, Param Pun bt. Santveer Singh 9-4, Krishna Rajput bt. Abhijeet Singh 9-5, Mritunjay Badola bt. Jagdeep Singh 9-1, Mayank Yadav bt. Prithvi Khanna 9-1, Sumitpal Singh bt. Yugal Bansal 9-5, Rahul Seth bt. Conrad 9-5, Anuj Malik bt. Aman Pandoh 9-8 (4), Shrey Gupta bt. Sabrang Sandal 9-3; Girls: U-16: First Round: Bhawya Wadhawan bt. Abhilasha Shoukeen 9-3, Tanmay Patnaik bt. Akshita Singh 9-3, Bani Singh bt. Komaljeet Kaur 9-0, Preetnain Grewal bt. Sakshi Singh 9-0, Prinkle Singh bt. Chetna Kumari 9-0, Gurneek Bhandal bt. Mannu Sharma 9-2, Aastha Malhotra bt. Rahat Manrai 9-6, Simranjeet Kaur bt. Jahnvi Shivran 9-1, Shrishti Dhanda W/O, Nimrat Walia W/O, Gayatri Kumariah bt. Neeru 9-5, Aarushi Kakkar bt. Seerat Sidhu 9-6, Shriya Kalia bt. Saumya Saxena 9-7, Harsimran Kaur bt. Sarah Dev 9-5, Seerat Pannu bt. Neelanchal Gupta 9-3, Nandini Sharma bt. Taru Ahluwalia 9-2

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.