Australian Grand Prix: Sutil, Di Resta drive Sahara Force India into top 10

Subrata Roy and Vijay Mallya owned Sahara Force India started off their new Formula One (F1 GP) season on a resounding note when comeback man Adrian Sutil and Paul Di Resta finished seventh and eighth, respectively in the Australian Grand Prix, earning the team 10 World Championship points.

Germany's Sutil moved up five places on the grid to earn six points, while Britain's di Resta, who was ninth fastest in the qualifying, gained a position to collect four points.

Sutil, who was struggling with his super-soft tyres in the final stint, said this result for the team was a perfect way to start the season.

"What a fantastic race and a great feeling. I started on the medium tyres, a different strategy to most of the cars ahead of me, and I think this was the right decision."

"The pace was quick and the car felt very good on the medium tyres so I was able to keep up with the guys in front of me, who I knew were going to pit early. It was not long until I was leading the race - my first time leading in Formula One," he said.

"After my second pit stop, I was back in the lead once again. My final stint on the super-softs was much more difficult because the tyres started graining and I lost a few places. I was thinking I might need to pit again, but fortunately the tyres came back to me for the final few laps so I could save the seventh place. I want to say a big 'thank you' to the team once again," Sutil added.

Di Resta was equally impressed with the way Force India team performed and said the top-ten finish for both the cars is a great way to kick off the season.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.