Bengal next stopover for BJP yatris

After their attempt to hoist National Flag at Kashmir now the entire BJP top brass and its chief ministers have turned their attention to West Bengal which is going for Assembly polls by the middle of this year.

All the seven BJP chief ministers Narendra Modi, B S Yedurrapa, Ramen Singh, Prem Singh Dhumal, Arjun Munda, Shivraj Singh Chauhan and Ramesh Pokriyal along with Bihar deputy chief minister Sushil Kumar Modi and the entire top brass of the party will be present at the culmination of the party's Nabajagran Yatra in Kolkata on February 15. The rally is to start from Coochbehar in North Bengal on January 30.

Senior BJP leader L K Advani, leaders of the Opposition Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley, former BJP presidents Rajnath Singh, Venkiah Naidu and Murli Manohar Joshi will be present at the rally at Rani Rashmoni Avenue.

"Never in the history of Bengal there has been such a gathering of senior BJP leader. This will be our biggest programme before the Assembly elections in the state," Rahul Sinha, the state BJP president told The Indian Express.

Sinha said during the rally, the party will highlight the issues of corruption, high prices of essential commodities, and reservation on the ground of religion in West Bengal. The party will highlight the failure of the UPA government at Centre and Left Front government in the state.

According to BJP leaders, the rath for the yatra has already been brought to the state from Chhattisgarh and has been taken to Coochbehar. BJP leader Rajnath Singh is likely to launch the rally which will pass through Murshidabd, Malda, West Midnapore, Howrah and Hooghly.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.