Bharti steers North Zone to facile nine-wicket victory over Central Zone

Due to Mahinder Bharti's impressive bowling performance (3 for 11), North Zone registered a facile nine-wicket victory over Central Zone in a low-scoring encounter of the 10th all India Oriental Insurance cricket tournament played at Sector 16 Cricket Stadium on Tuesday. After Mahinder's initial burst, it was left to Rakesh Kaushal and Parinder Sharma who played good knocks to ensure victory for the team.

Earlier, the Central Zone won the toss and elected to bat first. However, the decision backfired as their batsmen fell prey to poor shot selection and some disciplined bowling performance from the North Zone bowlers.

The team lost three quick wickets and never recovered from the initial shock. They were precariously placed at 6 for 3 in mere 4.2 overs.

Though Sanjay Jain and Jagdish Prasad (7) got into the rescue act and put on 36 runs off 29 balls, it was never going to be enough as the rest of the batsmen failed to chip in.

Mahinder was impressive as he scalped three wickets to put a brake on the Central Zone scoring rate. Arun Singh Yadav, Arun Dudi and Yashpal also did well with some neat bowling performance and all of them took two wickets each as Central Zone were shot out for 76 in 18.2 overs. Only Sanjay showed some resistance with a fighting knock of 38 runs.

Chasing the target, North Zone achieved the total for the loss of just one wicket in 9.1 overs. Rakesh Kaushal and Parinder Sharma played some wonderful shots during their unbeaten knocks to steer the team to victory. Sanjay Jain took the only North Zone wicket that fell.

Brief scores:

Central Zone: 76 all out in 18.2 overs (Sanjay Jain 38, Mahinder Bharti 3 for 11, Arun Singh Yadav 2 for 2, Arun Dudi 2 for 7, Yashpal 2 for 22); North Zone : 80 for 1 in 9.1 overs (Rakesh Kaushal 34 no, Parinder Sharma 23 no, Sanjay Jain 1 for 26)

Mankoo helps West Zone win

In another match, Jasbir Mankoo produced a superb all-round performance (30 runs and 3 for 12) to steer West Zone to an easy 29-run win over South Zone.

West Zone won the toss and opted to bat first. Vinod Kini looked in terrific form and played a hurricane knock of 41 off just 25 deliveries to give a rousing start to the team. His knock included two boundaries and an equal number of sixes. Jasbir Mankoo (30) and Jitendra Ingle (25) then kept the scoreboard ticking with intelligent batting as West Zone put 141 runs on the board for the loss of nine wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Harish Purthan was the most successful bowler for South Zone with 3 for 18.

In reply, the South Zone team kept losing wickets at regular interval and never looked good to chase the total against a disciplined West Zone bowling attack. Vinod Kini and Ashish Dudi bowled economical spells to keep the run flow in check. Then, left-arm spinner Mankoo captured three wickets as the South Zone team was restricted to 112 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs.

Brief scores:

West Zone: 141 for 9 in 20 overs (Vinod Kini 41, Jasbir Mankoo 30, Jatindra Ingle 25, H R Purthan 3 for 18, V Ravi Kumar 1 for 17); South Zone: 112 for 7 in 20 overs (Veerandra Kumar Dai 28, H R Purthan 25, Harihar Prasad 21, S Vidyanandh 13, Jasbir Mankoo 3 for 12, Jatindra Ingle 2 for 22)

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus