Big names suffer first round defeats

Top seeds including familiar names such as Anirban Ghosh, Sourav Chakraborty and Subhajit Saha fell by the wayside in the ongoing National Ranking (North Zone) Table Tennis Championships at the Thyagraj Stadium. Joining their ranks from the women's category were Ankita Das, Pooja Sahasrabuddhie, Divya Deshpande, Moushumi Paul and Manika Batra who failed to go past the first round.

Howoever, Soumyadeep Roy (No 1 seed here) remained the only beneficiary in the absence of Soumyajit Ghosh and Anthony Amalraj to progress to the quarterfinals. The PSPB player defeated Mohit Verma of Haryana 11-7, 11-9, 11-6, 11-7 and will now take on fellow PSPB paddler G. Sathyan in the quarters.

Poulomi Ghatak, on the other hand endured a tough time against Narasimha Priya as she had to put in her extra in an 85-minute gruelling encounter to win 4-3 (11-5, 11-8, 6-11, 9-11, 20-22, 12-10, 11-9) to reach quarters. Delhi girl Manika Batra's poor form yet again saw her failing to deliver on the expectations and went down to Suthirtha Mukherjee from West Bengal. The Bengal girl won 10-12, 11-5, 8-11, 11-9, 11-6, 11-8. The other two two PSPB girls, Divya and Moushumi also lost . Shreya Ghosh of RSPB defeated Divya 4-3 (11-3, 7-11, 8-11, 10-12, 6-11, 12-10, 11-8) while Moushumi lost to Delhi's Neha Aggarwal 11-8, 11-6, 11-8, 11-9.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.