BJP, BSP clash over members

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) indulged in a war of words on Wednsday, over a claim made by the BJP, saying that several former BSP members had joined BJP. The BSP denied the statement.

A programme had been organized at the BJP party office Kamlam in Sector 33 to welcome several new members, including Deepak Sharma and Mamata Sharma, who had earlier contested the municipal elections from ward 21 on a BSP ticket.

Sanjay Tandon, president of the BJP city unit, stated that the new members would be respected and not feel neglected in the party. He added that the party gives equal opportunites to everyone to work. However, the BSP issued a statement denying that any of their party members had joined the BJP.

BSP convener Haffiz Anwar-ul-Haq and president of the city unit, Jagir Singh, stated that the claims made by the BJP were false, that those named by them had definitely not been office bearers in the party. The leaders added that while Mamata Sharma did contest the election on her BSP ticket, she had been expelled by the party on January 4.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus