BJP reinforces hold over post of Oppn leader

The defeat of Anil Parab, one of the two Shiv Sena nominees in Thursday's Legislative Council polls and the victory of ally BJP's two nominees has reinforced the latter's hold over the post of the Leader of the Opposition in the upper house of the state legislature.

So far, the Shiv Sena had been staking claim to the post, now held by Pandurang Phundkar of the BJP, arguing it had nine MLCs as compared to the BJP's eight.

The BJP, on the other hand, said it had the right to the post as they had the support of three Independent MLCs, Gurmukh Jagwani, Ramnath Mote and Bhagwanrao Salunkhe.

The Sena had three vacancies in the upper house with the terms of Parab and Diwakar Raote he was re-elected on Thursday coming to an end and Suresh Jethaliya being elected to the Assembly.

The BJP had one vacancy, left behind by Prakash Shendge after his election to the Assembly.

For Thursday's polls, the Sena and the BJP had two candidates each. Both the BJP nominees, Gopinath Munde's nephew Dhananjay and former minister Shobhatai Fadnavis, were elected, taking the BJP MLCs to 10 and decreasing Shiv Sena's number to eight.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.