BJP to work towards solving Naga political issue: Rajnath Singh

BJP today said it will work towards solving the protracted Naga political problem through "mutual dialogue in a unique way" once the BJP-led NDA government comes to power at the Centre.

Addressing a press meet outside Dimapur Airport on return from his election campaign in Tizit and Aboi constituencies under Mon district, BJP president Rajnath Singh claimed that it was during the BJP-led NDA regime when peace and normalcy came to Nagaland.

Asserting that the BJP-led NDA would form the next government at the national level, he said, "We will resolve the Naga political by mutual dialogue and in a unique way."

The BJP was concerned about the people of the North East region, he said.

Given an opportunity, the party will provide special package for the development of the region, like it had done during the previous regime by opening a separate ministry to look after the Northeast region, he said.

On feedback about the mood of the electorate in Aboi and Tizit constituencies, Singh said he was happy with the response and claimed that people of Nagaland now understood the value of the NDA government and were willing to let the Naga People's Front-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland to form the next government.

"I am fully confident that the people will support and provide the opportunity for DAN to form the government in the state," he said.

On the seizure of arms and ammunition from the Home Minister of Nagaland yesterday, who is also a candidate of the BJP's ally, Singh said: "Whoever is charged and prima facie case established will not be given any charge in the next DAN government."

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.