Briefly state : New parliamentary secys get portfolios

Kolkata:The government on Monday allotted departments among the 13 newly appointed parliamentary secretaries. Amal Acharya, Biplab Mitra and Rabindranath Ghosh got Fisheries, Law and PWD departments, respectively, while Arup Khan, Sandhyarani Tudu, Shasi Panja were made secretaries of Agriculture Marketing, Backward Class Development and Women and Child Welfare. Asima Patra, Ashis Banerjee and Radhakanta Maiti are secretaries of Micro and Small Scale Industry, Higher Education and Irrigation departments, while Tapas Roy, Ashoke Deb and Nasiruddin Ahmed got Parliamentary Affairs, Minority Affairs and Transport. ATM Abdulla got Panchayat and Rural Development.

Mitra on '93 firing

Kolkata:Transport Minister Madan Mitra on Monday submitted before the Justice (retired) Sushanto Chattopadhyay-led judicial commission, which is probing the firing on Youth Congress supporters on 21 July 1993, claiming that the order to open fire had come from Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, who was then information minister.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus