Briefly state: Seven get life for killing 2 brothers

Nagpur:Additional sessions judge V P Ingle Wednesday sentenced seven men to life imprisonment for killing two brothers almost five years ago.

Six of the convicts Rakesh Kushwaha, Shanbhu Raikwar, Nandbabu Maurya, Yogendra Yadav and Ankit Shukla hail from Chitrakoot in UP. The seventh, Sunil Sharma, is a Nagpur resident. In May 2008, the accused, in a robbery bid, shot Suresh (40) and Sushil Lakhotia (37) at their office. Their brother, Shailesh, escaped with minor injury. The gang was planning to loot over Rs 1.5 crore of alleged hawala money but could lay their hands only on Rs 50,000.

Road mishap kills five in Wardha

Nagpur:Five people were killed when their car was hit by a speeding truck near Deoli in Wardha district Thursday early morning, police said. The victims hailing from Ghatanji in Yavatmal district were returning home after some work in the city. The truck driver fled the spot, police said.

Singer Mika Singh gets bail

Mumbai:Singer Mika Singh, who was arrested Wednesday night at the international airport here for allegedly carrying Indian and foreign currency beyond permissible limit, was granted bail for Rs 1 lakh Thursday."The singer claimed he got the money for two stage shows abroad," a Customs official said.

Singh, who arrived here from Bangkok by a private airline at around 7.30 pm Wednesday, was found in possession of $12,000 and Rs 3 lakh.

As per Customs norms, Indian passengers coming from abroad and carrying over Rs 7,500 and $5,000 need to declare the money upon arrival. The 35-year-old singer was unable to give satisfactory answers about the currency, following which he was arrested.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.