BSP finalises its candidates for 65 of 80 LS seats in UP

The Bahujan Samaj Party is likely to give final shape to its list of candidates for the 2014 Lok Sabha election by the end of August.

The party has already selected candidates for more than 65 of the total 80 Lok Sabha seats. The leadership is unlikely to deny tickets to any of its sitting MPs.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the BSP won 20 seats from the state. Sources in the party said all sitting MPs had been given clear instructions to help the BSP's district unit in completing organisational works like constitution of booth committees, sector committees and Assembly committees.

"BSP district units are identifying booth and sector committees that are currently inactive. Members of these committees are selected in consultation with the sitting MPs at most of the places," a source said.

The party has selected candidates for most of the Lok Sabha seats in Eastern UP. It has selected former minister Sadal Prasad for Bansgaon reserved seat (Gorakhpur) while Ram Bhual Nishad will be its candidate for Gorakhpur seat. Gorakhpur and its adjoining areas have good presence of Nishad voters. In the 2012 Assembly elections, BSP could not keep its Nishad voters intact after the decision of former minister Jamuna Prasad Nishad's wife Rajmati to join the Samajwadi Party. "So, the party has selected Ram Bhual Nishad as its candidate for Gorakhpur seat," another source added.

BSP coordinator and Rajya Sabha member Jugul Kishore confirmed the selection of both Sadal Prasad and Ram Bhual Nishad as BSP candidate for Bansgaon and Gorakhpur seats. He said the party has selected Kashinath Mishra for Maharajganj seat, Sita Ram Verma for Sultanpur seat, Chandra Prakash Matiyari for Amethi seat, Kamala Rawat for Barabanki seat and Dr Kiran Bharti for Bahraich seat.

The party leadership is likely to clear the names of its candidates for Gonda, Kaiserganj and Faizabad seat soon. "Gonda is currently represented by Union Steel Minister Beni Prasad Verma. Since there is a possibility of Beni Prasad shifting to another seat, the BSP is taking its time to select the candidate for Gonda," the source added.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus