Cabinet reshuffle: Kerala gets record presence at Centre

Shashi Tharoor

With the induction of Shashi Tharoor and Kodikkunnil Suresh in the Union Council of Ministers today, Kerala's representation at the Centre has gone up to eight, the highest ever for the state.

Out of the eight ministers, seven are from the Congress, including Cabinet Ministers A K Antony and Vayalar Ravi.

E Ahamed, Minister of State for External Affairs, belongs to Indian Union Muslim League, a long-time ally of the Congress in the state as well as at the Centre.

K V Thomas, Mullapally Ramachandran and K C Venugopal are the other Central ministers from Kerala apart from the newly inducted members.

Keralites who are playing important roles at the Centre also include Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman P J Kurien and Congress spokesperson P C Chacko, who is Chairman of the JPC on the 2G spectrum issue as well.

In today's cabinet shuffle, the state capital has achieved sort of a double gain. While Tharoor represents Thiruvananthapuram in the Lok Sabha, Suresh belongs to a village here.

He has, however, been elected from Mavelikkara in the Central Travancore region.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.