Cong adds one more seat in Mizoram, Thanhawla stakes claim to form govt

ThanhawalaLal Thanhawla will be sworn in for a second consecutive term as the Chief Minister

The Congress' seat tally in the 40-member Mizoram Assembly has gone up to 34 after the party's candidate won a re-poll in Lawngtlai East constituency.

H Zothangliana defeated his MDA rival Vanupa Zathang by a margin of 273 votes. He was leading by 83 votes excluding at one polling station for which re-poll had to be conducted due to an EVM malfunction on counting day.

The re-poll was conducted on Wednesday and 207 people voted. Of these, 198 voted for H Zothangliana.

Meanwhile, Lal Thanhawla, who was elected as leader of the Congress Legislature Party, staked his claim to form government in Mizoram.

Thanhawla will be sworn in for a second consecutive term as the Chief Minister on Saturday. (With PTI inputs)

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus