Congress declares by-poll candidates

The Congress high command on Monday announced the names of its candidates for the by-elections for the seats of Nalhati, English Bazar and Rejinagar. This would be the first poll battle between the Congress and the Trinamool Congress after the pull-out of the latter from the UPA.

The Left Front and the Trinamool Congress have already declared the names of their candidates for the seats.

The Congress announced the names of Abidur Rehman for Nalhati in Birbhum, Narendra Tewary for English Bazar in Malda and Rabiul Alam Choudhury for Reginagar in Murshidabad district. While Nalhati became vacant following the incumbent MLA Abhijit Mukherjee becoming MP of Jangipur, English Bazar was vacated following incumbent Congress MLA Krishnendu Narayan Choudhury joining TMC and becoming Minister for Tourism. Reginagar too got vacated following MLA Humayun Kabir joining TMC and becoming Minister of State for Animal Resources Development.

Announcing the names of the candidates, Shaqueel Ahmed, AICC observer for West Bengal said what TMC chief Mamata Banerjee did was 'unethical'. "They are all traditional Congress seats. She should not have fielded candidates form there. What she did was totally unethical," Ahmed said in Delhi.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.