Congress nominates two to MC committees

The opposition Congress finally nominated its members to two major bodies of the Municipal Corporation — finance and house tax committees.

The decision came six months after the MC elections took place.

While Sanjay Talwar and Gurpreet Gogi were nominated to finance and house tax committee respectively, councillor Balkar Sandhu was nominated as chairman of Ludhiana Congress councillors.

Bharat Bhushan Ashoo, MLA, Ludhiana (west), said, "As per the orders of Captain Amarinder Singh and nomination letters sent by him, they are our official nominees for finance committee and house tax committee. We gave those letters to the councillors concerned."

The opposition had elected Hemraj Aggarwal as its leader recently after a lot of delay due to factionalism in the party and lack of consensus after which Captain Amarinder Singh called for elections. Thus for the first time, elections were held in Chandigarh to elect the leader of opposition.

The MC house has not met even once since the elections except to elect the mayor.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.