Corporators seek bigger role, eye Assembly seats

Badruddin Shaikh

11 of Cong's 38 corporators in AMC seek tickets to contest the upcoming Assembly elections

Eleven of the 38 Congress corporators in the Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC), including their leader Badruddin Shaikh, have sought party tickets to contest in the upcoming Assembly polls.

Besides Shaikh, these include Naranbhai Patel for Naranpura seat, Haji Israrbaig Mirza for Vejalpur seat, Dariapur corporators Hasan Khan Pathan, Nazneen Bastawala, Vinod Modi and Kalupur's Surendra Baxi, who all have been asking for Dariapur seat.

Liyaqat Ghori of Raikhad and Badruddin Shaikh of Behrampura wards have set their sights on Jamalpur seat.

Asarwa corporator Mangal Surajkar is staking claim for Asarwa Assembly seat while Taufiq Khan Pathan of Rakhial ward wants to contest for Shaherkotda seat. Vatva corporator Atul Patel has shown interest in the newly carved Vatva seat.

In the BJP, two party corporators, Gautam Shah and Darshana Vaghela, are in the race for tickets to contest the Assembly polls.

BJP vice-president I K Jadeja, who was one of the three observers for Ahmedabad city, said it was not uncommon for corporators to ask for a ticket.

In the present government, BJP MLAs Pradeepsinh Jadeja (Asarwa), Faruq Shaikh (Kalupur), Gitaben Patel (Sabarmati), Rakesh Shah (Ellisbridge) and Maya Kodnani (Naroda) were first elected as corporators before they won an Assembly seat.

In Vadodara, BJP MLA Bhupendra Lakhawala has served as corporator for two consecutive five-year terms from 1981 to 1987.

Since 1995, Lakhawala has been elected as BJP MLA for four consecutive terms and has served as labour & employment minister, education and protocol minister, and civil defence, home guard and GRD (Gram Rakshak Dal) minister.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.