NPF sweeps back to power in Nagaland

Nagaland polls

Naga Peoples Front swept back to power in Nagaland today to form the government for the third consecutive time winning absolute majority by securing 37 of the total 60 seats.

The state party bettered its tally in the 12th Nagaland assembly by two seats against 35 it won last time. It had contested in all the seats.

Congress' electoral luck deserted it as the party could win only eight seats compared to the 18 it won last time.

NPF allies JD(U) and BJP won a seat each. NCP contested 15 but won in four seats, while RJD failed to open its account though it entered the fray in two constituencies.

Independents won 8 seats.

Elections were held in 59 of the total 60 seats. Election to Teunsang Sadar was countermanded following the death of Congress candidate P Chuba Chang a day before the February 23 polls.

NPF heavyweights who were re-elected today included Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, who won his Northern Angami seat by a convincing 12671 margin of votes for the sixth consecutive time defeating his Congress rival Kevise Sogotsu.

Former Nagaland Home Minister and NPF candidate Imkong L Impchen, who resigned following his arrest for allegedly carrying over Rs one crore in cash, arms and ammunition besides liquor in his vehicle ahead of the assembly polls, defeated independent candidate T Chalukumba Ao by 5735 votes. Congress candidate for the seat Moatemjen forefeited his deposit getting just 98 votes.

Lok Sabha MP CM Chang, who contested from Noksen was another prominent winner for the NPF. Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie won Western Angami seat for the third time defeating his Congress rival Asu Keyho by 1000 votes.

Among those of the NPF who got a drubbing were Rajya Sabha MP Khekiho Zhimomi in Ghaspani-I, Minister for Forest M.C.Konyak in Wakching, Education Minister Nyiewang Konyak in Aboi and Parliamentary Secretary for CAWD Torechu in Pungro Kiphire.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.