Creation of seven new districts, 22 talukas gets Cabinet nod

The state Cabinet, which met Wednesday under the leadership of Chief Minister Narendra Modi, gave in-principle approval for creation of seven new districts and 22 new talukas. This was done as part of the state's decentralisation of administration for fast and efficient service, an official release said.

Accordingly, the district collectors and talukas officials have been directed to study and create appropriate facilities and infrastructure in the new districts and talukas.

The proposed seven new districts are Aravalli district from Sabarkantha district, Gir-Somnath district from Junagadh, Botad district from Bhavnagar and Ahmedabad, Chhota Udepur from Vadodara, Mahisagar from the Panchmahals and Kheda, Morbi from Rajkot, Surendranagar and Jamnagar and Dwarka from Jamnagar.

The newly created talukas are Gir-Gadhada from Una in Junagadh district, Junagadh City from Junagadh, Lakhni from Deesa, Deodar and Tharad, Dholera from Dhandhuka and Barvala, Subir and Vaghai from the Dangs, Jesar from Palitana among others, the press statement said.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.