Dane DeHaan nominated for BAFTA Rising Star award

Dane DeHaanDane DeHaan: It's a huge honour and humbling experience to be recognised amongst such a talented group of actors. (Reuters)

'The Amazing Spider-Man 2' actor Dane DeHaan and '12 Years a Slave' star Lupita Nyong'o are among the nominees for this year's BAFTA EE Rising Star Award.

Actors George MacKay, Will Poulter and 'Blue Is the Warmest Colour' star Lea Seydoux have also been shortlisted for the prize, reported Deadline.

The winner of the EE Rising Star Award will be decided by the public and announced at the BAFTAs on February 16. DeHaan, whose credits also include 'The Place Beyond the Pines' and 'Kill Your Darlings', said of his nomination, "I am so thankful to BAFTA for considering me for this award. It's a huge honour and humbling experience to be recognised amongst such a talented group of actors."

MacKay experienced a breakthrough year in 2013 with roles in 'How I Live Now', 'Sunshine on Leith' and 'For Those in Peril', while fellow Brit actor Poulter appeared in 'We're the Millers' and will be seen later this year in 'The Maze Runner'.

Nigerian actress Nyong'o is currently earning rave reviews for her performance in '12 Years a Slave'.

French actress Seydoux, who has appeared in Hollywood blockbusters 'Robin Hood' and 'Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol', won the Palme d'Or last May alongside her 'Blue Is

the Warmest Colour' co-star Adele Exarchopoulos and director

Abdellatif Kechiche.

James McAvoy, Eva Green, Shia LaBeouf, Noel Clarke, Kristen Stewart, Tom Hardy, Adam Deacon and Juno Temple are the previous recipients of the award, which recognises actors with "exceptional talent, and those destined to be bright stars in the future of cinema".

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus