Defeated parties explore legal options after PU dismisses complaints

After the Grievance Redressal Cell (GRC) of Panjab University (PU) dismissed all complaints against the elected candidates of the Students' Council in absence of "corroborative evidence" and upheld the Students' Council elections, the 10 student organisations of the university, except the NSUI-HIMSU alliance are now exploring legal options to get their demands fulfilled.

Ever since the results of the students' council elections were declared, 10 student organisations of the university, except the NSUI-HIMSU, alliance had been protesting against the violations of the University Calendar Chapter XIX in the Students' Council elections held recently.

The protestors had demanded the university re-examine the conduct of all parties in the elections and cancel the candidature of members found guilty of violating guidelines.

Since their hopes have been dashed by the university's decision, the rival student organisations are now contemplating approaching the court.

"We are thinking about moving the court. But this is just one of the options and nothing has been decided yet. We will hold the meeting of our Joint Action Committee in the next few days and decide the future course of action," said Amaninder, a senior leader from Student Organization of Panjab University (SOPU).

The university had declared that the "complaints were found to be too generalised", remained "unsubstantiated" and no specific allegations had been leveled against elected candidates.

"We will also re-examine all the evidences that we have given to the GRC and decide what needs to be done," he added.

Meanwhile, the university authorities have administered oath to the Students' Council members, who have officially joined their respective offices.

Chandan Rana, President, Student Council said, "The Students' Council will formally start functioning after the GRC clears all complaints regarding the elections. We will hold our first meeting soon."

The PU Students' Council is at present constituted by president, Chandan Rana (NSUI), vice- president, Disha Arora (ABVP), general secretary, Abha Sharma (INSO), joint secretary, Sunny Mehta (NSUI) and five executive members elected on Tuesday, including Ajay Singh Rana (PSUU), Yumit Chopra (PUSU), Ramakant (PUSU), Jaganpreet (SOPU) and Khushdeep Singh (SOPU) and all Department Representatives.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.