Defeated Team India makes a quiet return

R Ashwin

India's vanquished cricketers returned home today after a demoralising tour of Australia during which they were whitewashed in the Test series and proved no good in the ODI tri-series that followed.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Praveen Kumar and Rahul Sharma arrived here at the Indira Gandhi International airport from Brisbane via Singapore early this morning.

The players landed much later then their scheduled arrival and chose to make quiet exits from the airport without talking to the waiting mediapersons.

The Mumbai-based group of Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer Khan, Rohit Sharma and Umesh Yadav arrived at the Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport, while spinner Ravichandran Ashwin landed in Chennai yesterday.

Tendulkar, Zaheer, Sharma and Yadav had separated from rest of the squad at Singapore to take a connecting flight to Mumbai.

As soon as Sri Lanka pipped Australia at the post in the last league match of the tri-series in Melbourne on Friday night, the reservation plans were put afoot and the Indian players lost little time in leaving for home.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.