Delhi airport wins intl health, safety award

The IGI airport here, operated by DIAL, has become the first Indian facility to bag the 'International Safety Award' from British Safety Council.

"This makes Indira Gandhi International airport (IGI), as the first and the only airport in India to win this prestigious award in field of health and safety. The award

benchmarks health and safety performance of an organisation on an international level to recognise the leaders in this field," a spokesperson of Delhi International Airport Limited said.

British Safety Council is one of the largest independent occupational health, safety and environmental organizations in the world.

The International Safety Awards are open to all companies across industries globally and the applicants are adjudged across 12 parameters related to health and safety management.

DIAL secured this award with an overall score of 57 (on 60 Point scale) for the year 2013.

"The criterion includes not only Safety Risk Management, but also employee welfare, health and well-being.

Additionally, it evaluates the health and safety arrangements for customers, stakeholders, safety promotion, emergency arrangements, including special arrangements for vulnerable people," he said.

Commenting on the award DIAL CEO I Prabhakara Rao said, "We are glad that DIAL's commitment towards health and safety has been acknowledged globally.

"Apart from being an internationally-renowned airport operator, we have also set a benchmark to provide a safe environment for our present and future customers, stakeholders and employees. Safety is pertinent for any business, but for us it is at the core of our operations."

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.