Delhi Assembly elections: Key facts

DelhiPollsVoter turnout has been slow in the morning hour.

Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit is seeking a fourth term in office but Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party may turn out to be a spoiler for both Congress and BJP. The saffron party has fielded Dr Harsh Vardhan as its CM candidate. As Delhi votes today, here are the key facts.

# A total of 1.19 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise.

# 66.11 lakh are men voters and 53.20 lakh are women.

# The number of first time voters is 4.05 lakh.

#810 candidates are in the fray in the three-cornered contest between Congress, BJP and AAP.

#While BJP has fielded candidates in 66 constituencies Congress and AAP are contesting from all 70 seats.

#BSP, which was the third largest party in last Assembly election, has fielded candidates in 69 seats, NCP in nine and Samajwadi Party in 27 seats.

#A total of 224 independents are also in the fray.

#There are 11,753 polling booths out of which 630 have been identified as critical and hyper critical. (With PTI inputs)

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
comments powered by Disqus