Delhi election results: Giant killer Arvind Kejriwal beats Sheila Dikshit, Harsh Vardhan wins

ElectionsArvind Kejriwal's AAP has emerged as a strong force, decimating the ruling Congress government in Delhi.

Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal on Sunday defeated three-time chief minister Sheila Dikhshit in New Delhi constituency.

"This is not my victory. It is a victory of people of New Delhi constituency and victory of democracy," said Kejriwal after defeating Dikshit.

The debutant Aam Aadmi Party which made a strong entry by winning 26 seats and was ahead in 01, is giving jitters to BJP which has won 32 seats and is ahead on 01 seat.

BJP's CM candidate Harsh Vardhan was also victorious from Krishna Nagar constituency.

Kejriwal's AAP registered victory on 18 seats including one from Hari Nagar constituency.

Photo: Assembly Polls

Three-times chief minister Sheila Dikshit is trailing behind Arvind Kejriwal (AAP) by around 5000 votes in the New Delhi constituency. After round three, Arvind Kejriwal had 8230 votes compared to Sheila Dikshit's 3720 votes.

BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate Harsh Vardhan was leading in his Krishna Nagar constituency by 5,000 votes.

Vardhan, whose party appears heading to form the next government by leading in 34 seats, said his priority would be to set up a task force within a fortnight of government formation to address issues of urgent importance and strengthen security of women.

Photo: Assembly Polls

AAP candidate Shazia Ilmi was trailing at the end of round 7 by 37 votes in RK Puram constituency. She had been in the lead for a few rounds.

Delhi Minister of Social Welfare, Kiran Walia, who contested from Malviya Nagar constituency, is trailing by 3000 votes.

BJP was leading in Hari Nagar, Krishna Nagar and Babarpur constituencies, AAP on the other hand was leading in first round in Kasturba Nagar constituency while Congress was ahead in Gandhi Nagar constituency.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.