Delhi gets two more revenue districts: Southeast, Shahdara

Delhi now has 11 revenue districts, after a notification to this effect was issued on Tuesday. Two new districts — Southeast and Shahdara — were carved out and notified from the nine districts. All 11 district commissioners will now become district magistrates. Currently, the city has only one district magistrate.

Delhi Cabinet had given in-principle approval to the formation of two new districts earlier this year, with Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit saying the decision would make revenue and district administration more efficient. The set-up of nine districts and 27 sub-divisions, had come into effect in 1997.

The notification explains that the Chanakyapuri district has now been created by merging the sub-divisions of Parliament Street, Connaught Place and Chanakyapuri. The Delhi Cantonment and Vasant Vihar sub-divisions, on the other hand, have been taken out from the Southwest district.

The new district sub-divisions are: Model Town, Narela and Alipur. Model Town has been created from the Northwest district. Narela sub-division, Northwest district, was divided into Narela and Alipur sub-divisions.

The Northwest district has been notified to have Rohini, Kanjhawala and Saraswati Vihar as its new sub-divisions, which were created from Saraswati Vihar sub-division, Northwest district. No changes were made to West district, which has Punjabi Bagh, Patel Nagar, and Rajouri Garden as the sub-divisions.

Southwest district will now have Dwarka, Najafgarh and Kapashera as new sub-divisions, which were created from Najafgarh sub-division.

South district will have Saket, Hauz Khas and Mehrauli as new sub-divisions, which were created from Hauz Khas sub-division of South District.

Southeast district will have Defence Colony, Kalkaji and Sarita Vihar as sub-divisions.

The Central district has been notified to have Civil Lines, Kotwali and Karol Bagh as its sub-divisions. The new Northeast district will have Seelampur, Yamuna Vihar and Karawal Nagar as sub-divisions. The Shahdara District will now have Shahdara, Seemapuri and Vivek Vihar as sub-divisions.

... contd.

Please read our terms of use before posting comments
TERMS OF USE: The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writer's alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of The Indian Express Group or its staff. Comments are automatically posted live; however, reserves the right to take it down at any time. We also reserve the right not to publish comments that are abusive, obscene, inflammatory, derogatory or defamatory.